Newsletter Tip #8: Revelation

Revelation.

Although this moment may feel apocalyptic (it’s not), remember that the original word for ‘apocalypse’ comes from the Greek ‘apokoluptein,’ meaning to ‘uncover’ or ‘reveal’.  

What will this experience reveal to you about yourself? 

In the words of one of my heroes, Joseph Campbell, “The dark night of the soul comes just before revelation. When everything is lost, and all seems darkness, then comes the new life and all that is needed.”

In the past couple of days I have received a few e-mails from some lovely human beings who have been using this crisis to reveal opportunities so I thought I’d share a couple of their stories with you:
 

  • One woman told me that she and each member of her family are using the crisis to learn something that they have always wanted to (but don’t have to) learn.  Her 11-year-old is learning how to build an app.  Her 9-year-old is learning the origin of the names of different stars.  Her husband is learning, “anything about nature,” and she is learning about the ancient properties of herbs. Pretty cool, right?
  • My friend, the amazing, Kabir Seghal, is hosting a nightly concert series to make music and keep musicians working (all musicians will be paid). New shows will be happening daily at and can be viewed here.
  • My own personal revelation has been that I am subscribed to a lot of marketing emails and have been using this opportunity to unsubscribe.  Less ambitious, I know, but also, weirdly satisfying. 

Oh, another thing I am doing is hosting virtual group meals.  If you’d like to join, our next virtual group breakfast/brunch/lunch will be this Friday morning, March 27th at 11:00am EST/ 10:00am CST/ 9:00am MST /8:00am PST.  If you would like to attend, please register via this link and you’ll be provided with instructions on how to join in the confirmation.  

Hope to see you (virtually) soon.

Until then, stay safe, be well.

Ben 

And now for some positive news…

Additional Resources:

  • An epidemiologist who predicted the pattern of infections in China says that this won’t be as bad as we think
  • Also, Bruce Feiler’s book “Council of Dads,” which is about community during a crisis was made into a television show that will be premiering tonight on NBC. Tune in.