Newsletter Tip #9: Give Yourself a Break

Give yourself a break.

One of the things that I have been hearing from people all week is a concern that they are not “doing enough” during this crisis. I have even heard this from two people I know who are currently sick with the coronavirus. That is a load of hogswallop! That’s right, I said ‘hogswallop’ and I’ll say it again: Hogswallop!

This is a crisis. It is a crisis that is affecting all of us in different ways. Some people are suffering physically, some emotionally, some financially and some all of the above.  But make no mistake about it, we are all suffering.  Suffering is an experience, not a competition. 

Please be kind to yourself.  You should be doing this always, but especially now. We don’t get to choose our needs but we can choose what we do with them.  I have found from experience that when your needs are met and you are in balance, great things happen.  Whether you need a little more sleep, reality TV (not usually my jam, but I have gotten sucked into this show, which is weirdly enjoyable), comfort food, more sex or less sex (more about this in an upcoming post) or just general self-care, leave your judgment to the side and go with it.  

One thing I am doing to meet my (and hopefully others’) needs for human engagement is hosting virtual group meals.  If you’d like to join, our next virtual group breakfast/brunch will be this Friday morning, March 27th at 11:00am EST/10:00am CST/ 9:00am MST/8:00am PST.  Please register via this link and you’ll be provided with instructions on how to join in the confirmation.  

Hope to see you (virtually) soon.

Until then, stay safe, be well.

Ben

Additional Resources:

  • An easy and healthy recipe for risotto.
  • My favorite ‘cold open’ from ‘The Office.’